C21HA Nauru
10 January - 06 February 2012


About Nauru

The Nauru flag represents the country's geographical position in the world. The blue field represent the surrounding Pacific Ocean and the clear blue sky. Nauru is located just south (26 miles) of the Equator (the bold yellow line), slightly west of the international dateline (the star is off centered towards the left of the flag). The 12 points on the star symbolize Nauru's 12 original tribes.

Nauru is the world's smallest Republic, covering just 21 square kilometres (8 sq mi), oval-shaped island in the southwestern Pacific Ocean, 42 kilometres (26 mi) south of the Equator, with just over 9,322  residents (estimate in July 2010). It is the second least-populated country after Vatican City. The island is surrounded by a coral reef, which is exposed at low tide and dotted with pinnacles. The reef is bounded seaward by deep water, and on the inside by a sandy beach.

•  Full name: The Republic of Nauru
•  Population: 9,322 (July 2010 estimate)
•  Capital: no official capital; government offices in Yaren District
•  Area: 21 sq km ( 8 sq miles)
•  Major language: English, Nauruan (official, a distinct Pacific Island language)
•  Life expectancy: 61 years (men), 68 years (women) (UN)
Head of state: The president, who is also head of the government.

Time zone: UTC+12

CQ Zone: 31

IOTA: OC-031

More detailed information available here.

Nauru Music and Images


HA5AO Banner


Random Image C21HA

OQRS Quick Tips

OQRS Quick Tip

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.